Dear members,

This year’s Annual General Meeting will happen online, due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Originally we were planning on doing the Online AGM on 6 and 7 november, but it would be at the same time as Web IDEC 2020, so we decided to move it to 18 and 19 December.

The Annual General Meeting is the circle with the highest authority in EUDEC. Aside from being the place to change the Guidance Document, it is also a opportunity for the members to supervise the work that the council has done throughout the year. There will also be an election…

All information will be updated on this website page.

We are looking forward to seeing you there and to hear your proposals and your feedback,

The EUDEC Council

Online AGM Agenda

Friday 18 Dec. 17:00 – 20:00 UTC (18:00 – 21:00 CET : Paris, Berlin…) (19:00 – 22:00 EET : Athens, Bucarest…)
Saturday 19 Dec. 14:00 – 17:00 UTC (15:00 – 18:00 CET : Paris, Berlin…) (16:00 – 19:00 EET : Athens, Bucarest…)

Zoom Id: 320 304 8388

Reports

  • 1. OC Report
  • 2. Council Report
  • 3. Community Report
  • 4. Financial Report
  • 5. Auditors’ Report
  • 6. Budget 2021 presentation and discussion (Approval of budget)
  • 7. Report: Summerhill Festival of Childhood

Elections

  • 10. Election of two new people in “Council” (Katrin and Magi resigned)
  • 11. Election of the two “Auditors” (like every year): they monitor, audit and report on EUDEC bookkeeping
  • 12. Election of two members of “Oversight Committee” (because their election was 2 years ago): they arbitrates disputes and addresses members’ complaints

If you want to candidate, please contact council@eudec.org (before Thursday 17 Dec.)

Proposals

  • 20. (proposed by Council) EUDEC 2022 venue: Proposal Bulgaria
  • 21. (proposed by Council) Proposal on changing voting process: “In AGM, if a member makes a proposal that is longer than 5 lines, amendments related to this proposal are not voted, but the member decides if s/he accepts the amendments or not. (S/he can ask the AGM participants to give their opinion rapidly, with an invitation to raise their hand if they find that the amendment is a good idea…)
”
  • 22. (proposed by Lena) Include an ‘equal representation clause’ to the conference agreement. ‘Conference organisers pledge to make their panels as diverse as possible (race, colour, ethnicity, gender, age, ability, nationality, sexual orientation), at the very least, 50% should be female, with an active effort to include speakers of colour).
  • 23. (proposed by Lena) Council starts work to provide a list of potential speakers on the eudec website according to the equal representation clause.
  • 24. (proposed by Lena) The equal representation clause is added to the GD as a general requirement for events which use the EUDEC ‘brand’ identity and logo. (change to GD will require a 2/3 majority).
  • 25. (proposed by Henning) Change the wording of the introductory page of the EUDEC Diploma back to the first version (as stated at the bottom of this page).

If you want to add some proposals, please contact council@eudec.org (before Friday 20 Nov.)

Feedback and closing of AGM

Openspace/ Workshops (Saturday morning)

Saturday 19 Dec. 9:00 – 12:00 UTC (10:00 – 13:00 CET : Paris, Berlin…) (11:00 – 14:00 EET : Athens, Bucarest…)

Zoom Id: 320 304 8388

  • 30. Making AGM more accessible (workshops and online-streaming) (Organizer: Masha and council)
  • 31. Structure of EUDEC (Organizer: Guilain)
  • 32. Developing a theory of Democratic Schools (Organizer: Henning) (see details at the bottom of this page)

If you want to animate a workshop, please contact council@eudec.org (before Thursday 17 Dec.)

 

 

Annexes

Details of Proposal 25. :

Preface

Through this diploma our school, the [___-School] will present Peter Muster’s developments, strengths, qualities, academic skills and other acquired competencies which he has had the opportunity to develop.

Democratic Schools

[___-School] is part of an international network of democratic schools that work according to the following principle:

We believe that, in any educational setting, young people have the right
• to decide individually how, when, what, where and with whom they learn
• to have an equal share in the decision-making as to how their organizations – in particular their schools – are run, and which rules and sanctions, if any, are necessary.

(Resolution of the International Democratic Education Conference, Berlin 2005)

More information about this type of school can be found, for example, on the website of the European Democratic Education Community (EUDEC – www.eudec.org), as well as on the [___-School] website.

Key Competencies

Experience has shown that people acquire the following key competencies through their life and learning at a democratic school:

The special organization of the learning process results in:

  • personal responsibility
  • independence
  • conscious choice of interests
  • emotional intelligence
  • self-awareness

The high level of participation in the organization of everyday school life results in:

  • ability to work in a team
  • flexibility
  • openness for the opinions of others
  • ability to deal with criticism
  • negotiation and conflict resolution skills
  • sense of responsibility for others

[German translation is also provided]

Details of Workshop 32.

One weakness of the democratic schools movement is that it has not yet developed a theory of its own. That could be one reason why the democratic schools at the universities have so far hardly been noticed and play almost no role in teacher training. The need for a theory of democratic schools arises from the experience that there are different understandings of what is meant by a democratic school. These different views can be in contradiction to one another without either of them being “wrong”. A theory is required to describe these differences and understand the underlying concepts. Let’s develop one!